I am so pleased that it’s okay to wear espadrilles again, after a few years in the style wilderness. I have just returned from four days in Corfu, which was fine except little Sam sort of spiralled off into some kind of mad psychodrama (plus ca change).

(By the way, if you were the reader who I was chatting to at Pizza East, having dumped my husband and children at home fresh off the plane on the pretext of getting the kids some tea, while I was literally demented with end-of-school-holidays madness I am really sorry. I saw the panic in your eyes. You were kind.)

Anyway while in Corfu I found myself reaching for my espadrilles at all times. Mine are these pale pink pair from Seven Boot Lane that for the last two summers I have treated like they are holy relics, only getting them out for special occasions, spraying them and brushing the suede, keeping them in the box.

Screen Shot 2017-04-19 at 12.30.33
£80, from Seven Boot Lane

But alas you cannot put off the inevitable knackering of an espadrille, (although new generation espadrilles are more sturdy than their tatty, squelchy ancestors), and I have vaguely got my eye on what my next pair might be. My one requirement is that it has a platform sole, which has marvellously leg-lengthening and ankle slimming properties (possibly only to me, in my head, but that’s all that matters).

I like these from Office.

Screen Shot 2017-04-19 at 12.34.09
£67.99 – how did they arrive at this random price, I wonder?

and these , also from Office. A bit mental, but I think they would look nice on.

Screen Shot 2017-04-19 at 12.37.32
£69.99

I worry that these, with the sparkly bits on the front, might be a bit Temple Fortune mum. I grew up in Temple Fortune and I can say that and it’s not racist.

Screen Shot 2017-04-19 at 12.36.01
£110

If you are thinking that it is insane to spend north of £50 on an espadrille, just remind yourself that they are more sturdy that their forefathers and so worth it. You are still allowed to wear your flip flops! Just not for best.